OTTAWA, Dec. 4, 2023 / CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce entries are now being accepted for its CAJ Awards program, Canada’s preeminent national journalism investigative awards program. 

This year’s CAJ Awards program features 19 categories and rewards journalistic excellence published across multiple platforms. There are special awards for journalism produced on specific topics, including: environment and climate change, labour, and human rights. 

For this year’s competition, the CAJ is happy to announce it is introducing a new category: Community Written Feature, which recognizes narrative longform journalism by local or regional outlets.

The 2023 program will also celebrate the excellent work from student journalists, as well as recognize an emerging Indigenous journalist.   

The deadline to submit entries to this year’s competition is 11:59 p.m. ET on January 19, 2024.

“Acts of journalism, whether investigative, explanatory or documentary in nature, that inform and empower citizens to ask critical questions of those individuals and organizations in power is an unparalleled public service,” said Brent Jolly, CAJ president. “High-quality journalism that shines a light into the darkest of corners, and demands accountability, is an essential ingredient in preserving democracy.” 

As always, CAJ members get the lowest entry rates. If you or someone on your team aren’t already members, please sign up for membership by visiting our website

CAJ members who submit an individual entry into the Community Media or Community Broadcast categories will have their entry fees waived. CAJ student members submitting individual entries to the Student Award of Excellence also pay no entry fee.

“The CAJ Awards are unlike any other awards competition in Canada because they are judged by journalists for journalists,” Jolly said. “There is a special feeling that comes with being recognized by your peers at our festive awards gala for a job well done.” 

The CAJ would like to thank its long-time sponsors, including: CWA Canada, and Journalists for Human Rights. We would also like to thank the Ken and Debbie Rubin Foundation for their continued support of our Freedom of Information Journalism award.

Finalists for 2023 CAJ Awards will be announced in early spring 2024. The recipients will be announced at a gala celebration on June 1, 2024 during our annual conference at the Toronto Reference Library. 

For further information:

Brent Jolly, CAJ president – 289-387-3179,  

Jason Markusoff, CAJ Awards committee chair, 

General awards questions can always be submitted to

Share This Post!

Our thanks to Cision for sponsoring this announcement.


Latest News


CAJ Strategic Plan 2024-2027

Cision News Feed

Recent X Posts

For privacy reasons X needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy Policy.
I Accept