OTTAWA, May 30, 2020 / CNW / The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 CAJ Awards for outstanding investigative journalism.

This included presenting the McGillivray Award to Craig Silverman of BuzzFeed News, for his multi-part look at how one company successfully used Facebook, and fake news posts, to lure people into subscription-based services that only ended up ripping them off. BuzzFeed’s work showed how the company even used Canadian celebrities to bait people in this country, and led to Facebook taking some action and the company itself falling apart.

Earlier in the evening, Silverman’s entry had been named the recipient in the Online Media category. The McGillivray Award recognizes the best of the recipients in the CAJ Awards’ seven investigative categories.

The Charles Bury President’s Award, given under circumstances of exceptional merit to those people or organizations that have made a significant contribution to Canadian journalism, was presented to Jerome Turner, Jesse Winter and Amber Bracken for their dedicated reporting and, in particular, for protecting the public’s right to know how events unfolded at Wet’suwet’en.

Due to the restrictions of the COVID-19 pandemic, the CAJ Awards were presented online this year, with finalists invited to participate in a video conference that was also livestreamed on the CAJ’s Facebook page. The event was MC’d by Vicky Mochama.

The recipients in the OPEN MEDIA category are: 

Jean-François Cloutier, Jean-Louis Fortin, Hugo Joncas, Philippe Langlois, Félix Séguin, Andrea Valéria

Manquements éthiques et prêts douteux à la Caisse de dépôt

Le Journal de Montréal – Bureau d’enquête

The recipient in the COMMUNITY MEDIA category is:

Katrina Clarke

A Shot in the Dark: New Brunswick school vaccination policies

The Daily Gleaner, Fredericton, N.B.

The recipients in the OPEN BROADCAST FEATURE category are:

Cullen Crozier, Brittany Guyot, Holly Moore

Broken Circle

APTN Investigates

The recipients in the OPEN BROADCAST NEWS category are:

Anton Koschany, Kevin Newman, Kathlene Calahan, Andre Lapalme, Kirk Neff, Brett Mitchell

The Laundromat

CTV – W5

The recipients in the COMMUNITY BROADCAST category are:

Ashley Legassic, Kent Simmonds

You’re Not Alone — A Deeper Look into Suicide

CFJC, Kamloops, B.C.

The recipients in the DATA JOURNALISM AWARD are:

Institute for Investigative Journalism and media partners

Tainted Water

IIJ / Toronto Star / Global News / Le Devoir / Regina Leader-Post / National Observer

The recipient in the ONLINE MEDIA category is:

Craig Silverman

Trap King

Buzzfeed News

The recipient in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category is:

Darryl Dyck

2019 portfolio (no single link available)

Freelancer / The Canadian Press

The recipients in the SCOOP category are:

Steven Chase, Robert Fife, Sean Fine

PMO pressed justice minister to abandon prosecution of SNC-Lavalin

The Globe and Mail

The recipients in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category are:

Blair Crawford, Elizabeth Payne, Kelly Egan, Jon Willing, Shaamini Yogaretnam, Taylor Blewett, Joanne Laucius, Wayne Cuddington, Julie Oliver

Westboro Bus Crash

Ottawa Citizen

The recipients in the TEXT FEATURE category are:

Angie Landry, Mélanie Picard

Survivre à la 117

Radio-Canada – Abitibi-Témiscamingue, Que.


Emma McIntosh, Mike De Souza

How Alberta kept Fort McKay First Nation in the dark about a toxic cloud from the oilsands

National Observer / Toronto Star


Jenna Dulewich

Stoney Nakoda portfolio entry

Rocky Mountain Outlook, Canmore, Alta.


Eli Glasner

‘I just broke down crying’: Canadian video game creators face gruelling ‘crunch’ hours

CBC News – The National

The recipient in the APTN / CAJ RECONCILIATION AWARD is:

Christopher Curtis

Portfolio entry

Montreal Gazette

The recipient in the ENVIRONMENTAL AND CLIMATE CHANGE category

Marco Chown Oved

Undeniable: Life and Death Under the Dome

Toronto Star

The recipients in the STUDENT AWARD OF EXCELLENCE are:

Sarah Chew, Katie Swyers, Martha Currie, Stephanie Liu


RSJ Doc / Ryerson University

Consistent with information in the entry package instructions, judges had the discretion to name between one and five finalists in each award category. There were a total 343 entries for the 2019 awards program.

The CAJ congratulates all the recipients and finalists and thanks all those who submitted entries for consideration. Many judges once again noted the excellent quality and breadth of work contained within the pieces submitted into the program.

Journalists continue to produce striking, important, and meaningful work that educates, informs, exposes, uncovers, affects change, and makes our communities better places to live. The CAJ is proud to play a role in recognizing the best of this work on an annual basis.


The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with about 700 members across Canada. The CAJ’s primary roles are public-interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.


For further information:

Karyn Pugliese, CAJ president – cell 204-995-1071,

Jason Markusoff, CAJ awards committee co-chair,

Terra Tailleur, CAJ awards committee co-chair, | |


Latest News


CAJ Strategic Plan 2024-2027

Cision News Feed

Recent X Posts

For privacy reasons X needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy Policy.
I Accept