TORONTO, May 29, 2023/ CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce 70 applicants have been successfully matched with mentors in the eighth round of its mentorship program.  

Throughout the spring and summer, mentees will be working with mentors from across the country, mediums and platforms. Mentors had the option to select mentees for a full six-week individual or group mentorship, or have a one-hour conversation. This allowed flexibility for mentors’ busy schedules, and allowed for more young and mid-career journalists to participate in the program. 

“Participating in the CAJ mentorship program is a life-changing opportunity for journalists looking to refine their skills and develop new approaches to telling stories that have impact,” said Brent Jolly, CAJ president. 

The CAJ received 83 applications for this round of the mentorship program. The mentorship matches in this round are: 

  • Ashley Wadhwani-Smith – head of editorial, Black Press Media
    • Shirley Li – freelance journalist
  • Arshy Mann – host and producer, COMMONS/Canadaland
    • Katia Lo Innes – associate producer, The Breach Media
    • Charlize Alcaraz – student, Toronto Metropolitan University
  • Candace Maracle – filmmaker and journalist
    • Amy Romer – freelance journalist
  • Carlos Osorio – freelance photojournalist
    • Arif Balkan – freelance photojournalist
  • Carol Linnitt – executive editor and co-founder, The Narwhal
    • Michael John Lo – journalist, Capital Daily
    • Claire Patterson – master student, University of Amsterdam
    • Sophie Kuijper Dickson – student, Carleton University
  • Cecil Rosner – investigative journalist and adjunct professor, University of Winnipeg
    • Madeleine Cummings – reporter, CBC Edmonton
    • Sabina Wex – freelance journalist
  • Chris Bilton – climate change and sustainability editor, The Weather Network
    • Emily Vance – associate producer/tech, CBC Victoria
    • Pippa Norman – student, Carleton University
  • Cole Burston – freelance photojournalist
    • Justine Beaulieu-Poudrier – videojournalist, CBC/Radio-Canada
    • Sammy Kogan – student, Toronto Metropolitan University
    • Stefan Stangman – masters student, Queen’s University
  • David Reevely – Ottawa correspondent, The Logic
    • Brennan Doherty – freelance journalist
    • Natasha Bulowski – reporter, Canada’s National Observer
    • Yumna Iftikhar – masters student, Carleton University
  • Dennis Ward – host/producer, APTN National News and Face to Face
    • Jenna Reid – student, Memorial University of Newfoundland
  • Donnovan Bennett – host, Sportsnet
    • Carolina Izaguirre – radio host, CHIN Radio Ottawa
    • Conor Tomalty – student, Concordia University
  • Elizabeth Renzetti – author and journalist
    • Katie Teeling – opinion editor, The Gateway (University of Alberta)
    • Isabel Harder – student, Carleton University
    • Megan Kinch – freelance journalist
  • Geneviève Beauchemin – Québec Bureau chief, CTV National News
    • Abigail Alves Murta – associate producer, Groupe média TFO
    • Esther Morand – student, Concordia University
  • Jason Chiu – visual editor/creative director, Headway/The New York Times
    • Nyren Mo – digital engagement coordinator, Western University
    • Isabella Falsetti – student, University of British Columbia
    • Marissa Tiel – freelance journalist
    • Meaghan Barry – sr. lead data visualization designer, Data Culture Studio
    • Katherine Cheng – videojournalist, Global News
  • Jimmy Thomson – freelance journalist, editor and teacher
    • Brenna Owen – reporter/editor, The Canadian Press
    • Michelle Gamage – journalist, The Tyee
    • Tania Millen – freelance journalist
    • Kimiya Shokoohi – freelance journalist
    • Rosalyn Roy – senior staff reporter, Wreckhouse Press Incorporated
  • Judy Trinh – Ottawa correspondent, CTV National News
    • Yalda Sarwar – broadcast associate, Bell Media/BNN Bloomberg
    • Tsering Asha Leba – special projects editor, RedPoint Media Group
  • Ka’nhehsí:io Deer – reporter, CBC Indigenous
    • Carrie Hill – photographer, Carrie Hill Creative
    • Karli Zschogner – freelance videojournalist
  • Kareem Shaheen – founding editor, New Lines Magazine
    • Dennis Kovtun – student, Carleton University
    • Omar Sherif – digital journalist, CBC Calgary
  • Katie Simpson – senior foreign correspondent, CBC News
    • Lauren Toffan – chase producer, CTV News Channel/Bell Media
  • Katrina Clarke – investigative reporter, Winnipeg Free Press
    • Abigail Popple – freelance journalist
    • Lily Polenchuk – news editor, The Gateway (University of Alberta)
    • Liam O’Connor – student, University of Regina
  • Lindsay Jones – Atlantic reporter, The Globe and Mail
    • Jenn Allen – freelance journalist
    • Gabe Oatley – editorial fellow, Future of Good
    • Darya Marchenkova – freelance journalist
  • Michael Lista – investigative journalist, essayist and poet
    • Tristan Cappachione – audio editor & technical producer, CANADALAND Media
    • Seavey Van Walsum – student, University of Toronto
    • David Venn – reporter, Nunatsiaq News
  • Molly Hayes – national reporter, The Globe and Mail
    • Alice Chen – reporter,
    • Isabella Zavarise – freelance journalist
    • Calvi Leon – multimedia reporter, The London Free Press
    • Cassidy McMackon – masters student, Queen’s University
  • Molly Thomas – investigative reporter
    • Maria Sarrouh – producer, TVO The Agenda
    • Rajalaxmi Nayak – student, Toronto Metropolitan University
    • Poornima Francis – masters student, University of British Columbia
  • Nana aba Duncan – Carty Chair in Journalism, Diversity and Inclusion Studies at Carleton University and co-founder, Media Girlfriends
    • Jenna Dulewich – current affairs reporter/associate producer, CBC/Radio-Canada
    • Charmaine Noronha – freelance journalist
  • Patrick White – national correspondent, The Globe and Mail
    • Julie Goldenberg – student, Columbia Journalism School
    • Joseph Paris – editorial intern, Galleries West Magazine
  • Piya Chattopadhyay – host, CBC Radio’s The Sunday Magazine
    • Natasha O’Neill – web writer, CTV News National (online)
    • Sabrina Soosaimuthu – student, Humber College
  • Sam Cooper – investigative reporter, The Bureau
    • Adin Wagner – freelance journalist
  • Shalu Mehta – editorial lead, The Discourse Cowichan
    • Amrita Roy Chowdhury Majumdar – freelance journalist
    • Emilie Schafferling – videojournalist/content specialist, NewBanking
    • Claire McFarlane – student, Carleton University
  • Thibault Jourdan – digital producer, Radio-Canada
    • Miriam Lafontaine – student, Concordia University

The CAJ board of directors offers a sincere thanks to all the mentors who have made this program possible.

Applicants who did not match in this round are strongly encouraged to apply for the next session in Fall 2023. If you are a journalist interested in mentoring for the next edition of this program please get in touch with us

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization that serves to advance the interests of journalists from coast to coast to coast. The CAJ’s primary roles are public-interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

For more information contact: Brent Jolly, CAJ president, 289-387-3179,


Latest News


CAJ Strategic Plan 2024-2027

Cision News Feed

Recent X Posts

For privacy reasons X needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy Policy.
I Accept