TORONTO, November 28, 2022/ CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce the 59 successful applicants for the seventh round of its mentorship program. 

In the coming weeks, mentees will work with mentors from across the country and across mediums and platforms: radio, television, audience engagement, photojournalism, digital, and print publications. Mentors had the option to select mentees for a full six-week individual or group mentorship, or have a one-hour conversation. This allowed flexibility for mentors’ busy schedules, and ultimately for more journalists to participate in the program. 

“Learning from those who have come before you is a time-honoured tradition in journalism’s history,” said CAJ president Brent Jolly. “The CAJ’s mentorship program is an unparalleled opportunity to bridge ‘old’ and ‘new’ approaches and techniques that helps mentors and mentees to look critically at their craft and share their passions for quality journalism that affects change.” 

The CAJ received 67 applications for this round of the mentorship program. The successful applicants come from multiple provinces and territories and range from students to experienced journalists. 

The CAJ board of directors offers a sincere thanks to all the mentors who have made this program possible. 

The mentorship matches in this round are: 

  • Aaron Wherry, Ottawa – senior writer, CBC
    • Faith Greco – journalist, editor, writer, student at Carleton University
    • Stephen Cook – reporter/editor, CBC News
  • Arik Ligeti, BC – director of audience, The Narwhal
    • Jacquelin Ronson – managing editor, The Discourse
  • Charlie Gillis, Toronto – deputy managing editor, The Logic
    • Hamdi Issawi – reporter (general assignment), Edmonton Journal/Sun
    • Jake MacAndrew – student, Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU)
  • Creeson Agecoutay, Atlantic – Atlantic bureau chief, CTV National News
    • Jamin Mike – staff reporter, Toronto Star
  • Cynthia Mulligan, Toronto – journalist, CityNews
    • Liz Mendes – student, University of British Columbia (UBC)
    • Mark Henick – master of journalism student, Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU)
    • Naama Weingarten – reporter, Investigative Journalism Bureau
  • Douglas Quan, BC – editor, Vancouver Sun/Province
    • Jeffrey Mo – freelance journalist
  • Emily Mathieu, Toronto – freelance journalist
    • Maeve Ellis – student, University of Toronto; associate features editor, The Varsity; associate senior copy editor, The Strand
    • Bernice Wong – student, University of British Columbia (UBC); senior news writer, The Ubyssey
    • Masih Khalatbari – journalist, Investigative Journalism Bureau
    • Charles Brockman – student, University of British Columbia (UBC)
  • Erin Valois, Toronto – vice president of digital strategy, Postmedia
    • Eric Shih – reporter, Dougall Media
    • Karissa Donkin – reporter (investigative unit), CBC News
    • Mark Colley – student, Carleton University
  • Ethan Lou, Toronto – assistant editor, The Globe and Mail
    • Caleb Hooper – student, Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU)
  • Evy Kwong, Toronto – manager of social media, Vice News
    • Katia Lo Innes – assistant producer/social media manager, The Breach
    • Shalu Mehta – lead reporter, The Discourse
    • Karan Saxena – audience engagement fellow, The Narwhal
  • Faiza Amin, Toronto – journalist, CityNews
    • Chelsi Mackie – freelance journalist & editor
  • H.G. Watson, Toronto – freelance journalist
    • Jocelyn Baker – student, University of British Columbia (UBC); senior staff writer, The Ubyssey
    • Dennis Kovtun – student, Carleton University
  • Hilary Beaumont, Atlantic – freelance journalist
    • Mickal Aranha – freelance journalist
    • Ayesha Habib – freelance journalist; fellowship, Chatelaine
  • Jacques Poitras, Atlantic – provincial affairs reporter, CBC
    • David Shuman – student, University of King’s College; editor, Dalhousie Gazette
    • Yasmina Dagry – journalist, CHUO89.1FM
  • Jaren Kerr, Toronto – breaking news reporter, Financial Times
    • Geoff Russ – reporting fellow, Hub Canada Media
  • Jason Chiu, Ottawa – visual editor, The New York Times
    • Natalie Vineberg – designer, The Washington Post
    • Louis Bockner – freelance journalist and photojournalist
  • Jason Warick, Saskatchewan – journalist, CBC
    • Walter Petrichyn – museum assistant, Museum Windsor
    • Matt Scace – journalist, Prince George Post
  • Leah Hennel, Alberta – freelance photojournalist
    • Jade Prevost-Manuel – freelance journalist
    • Leonardo DeGorter – student, University of British Columbia (UBC); documentary photographer
  • Marsha Lederman, BC – columnist, The Globe and Mail
    • Lauren Donnelly – producer, reporter, newsreader, CBC
    • Kimiya Shokoohi – freelance journalist
    • Jonathan Rothman – freelance journalist
  • Mel Woods, BC – senior culture editor, Xtra Magazine
    • Lys Morton – journalist, The Discourse
    • Kyra Grubb – news anchor/community reporter, Discourse Community Publishing & Radio NL Kamloops; student, Thompson Rivers University
  • Mick Côté, Quebec – Digital managing editor for Noovo Info (Bell Media)
    • Maïté Belmir – freelance journalist, radio host
    • Oriol Salvador Vilella – digital product manager, Bell Media
  • Noor Javed, Toronto – journalist, Toronto Star
    • Swidda Rassy – video journalist, Rogers Sports & Media
    • Sophie Palmer-Still – student, Holland College (PEI)
  • Odette Auger, BC – managing editor, IndigiNews
    • LaRhonda Oombash – freelance journalist
  • Patti Sonntag, Quebec – freelance investigative journalist and producer
    • Nadia Agamawy – student, Université de Montreal
    • Roveena Jassal – journalist, Toronto Star
    • Frederik-Xavier Duhamel – journalist, La Presse
  • Paul Haavardsrud, Alberta – host of Cost of Living, CBC Radio One
    • Natalie Pressman – reporter/editor, CBC North
  • Renata D’Aliesio, Toronto – investigations team lead, The Globe and Mail
    • Luca Caruso-Moro – journalist, CTV News Montreal
    • Katie Swyers – associate producer for CBC’s network investigative unit, CBC
  • Sean Fitz-Gerald, Toronto – senior national writer, The Athletic
    • Miriam Celebiler – student, University of British Columbia (UBC); sports and rec editor, The Ubyssey
    • Reanna Julien – student, Carleton University
  • Selena Ross, Quebec – Reporter at CTV Montreal
    • Jonny Wakefield – reporter, Edmonton Journal/Sun
    • Gwen Roley – research coordinator, Concordia University, Institute for Investigative Journalism
    • Jack Farrell – reporter, St. Albert Gazette
  • Steve Bonspiel, Quebec – reporter and editor/publisher, The Eastern Door
    • Elisabeth Gill – freelance journalist
  • Vanmala Subramaniam, Toronto – journalist, The Globe and Mail
    • Tegwyn Hughes – community editor, Discourse Community Publishing
    • Mahdis Habibinia – master of journalism student, Toronto Metropolitan University (TMU); news/features editor, On The Record

Applicants who did not match in this round are strongly encouraged to apply for the next session in Spring 2023. If you are a journalist interested in mentoring for the next edition of this program please get in touch with us

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with 1,300 members across Canada. The CAJ’s primary roles are public-interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

For more information contact: Brent Jolly, CAJ president, 289-387-3179,


Latest News


CAJ Strategic Plan 2024-2027

Cision News Feed

Recent X Posts

For privacy reasons X needs your permission to be loaded. For more details, please see our Privacy Policy.
I Accept