66 journalists match in CAJ mentorship program

The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) is pleased to announce the successful applicants of its Mentorship Program for Journalists

Over the coming weeks, 66 journalists will learn from mentors working in radio, television, digital, and print publications across the country. This is about double the number paired during the CAJ’s last mentorship round. Mentors have taken as many mentees as their schedules allowed. Many said they wished they could help everyone who applied. 

“The entire CAJ team is incredibly grateful to the amazing mentors who have stepped up to share their skills and experience,” said CAJ president Brent Jolly. “Mentoring others provides exponential benefits for mentor, mentee, and the industry as a whole."

The CAJ had 208 applicants for its mentorship program, a significant increase from the 122 that applied last round. Successful applicants range from journalism students to experienced reporters. 

“The CAJ is thrilled with the range of talented journalists taking part in this program. We look forward to seeing all the great things to come out of it,” said Jolly.

The CAJ board of directors offers a deep, sincere thanks to all the mentors who are generously donating their time.  

This year’s mentorship matches include:

  • Adrian Harewood, co-anchor of CBC News Ottawa at 6

    • Genelle Levy, Freelance Journalist

    • Janela Milord Ashford, News Coordinator at CHUO 89.1 FM

    • Shalu Mehta, reporter at The Discourse

  • Andray Domise, contributing editor at Maclean's

    • Chelsea Nash, digital engagement editor at Rabble

    • Emilie Nicolas, columnist at Le Devoir/The Montreal Gazette

    • Omar Sherif, student at Southern Alberta Institute of Technology

    • Ryan Stelter, managing editor at Kenora Miner and News

  • Angie Landry, coordinator and editor of Radio-Canada Arts website

    • Pia Araneta, intern at Global News

  • Brandi Morin, French/Cree/Iroquois freelance journalist

    • Kiah Lucero, freelance journalist

    • Laura Beaulne-Stuebing, digital journalist at University Affairs

  • Brigitte Noël, investigative reporter with Radio-Canada's Enquête

    • Laurie Trottier, journalist at l'Aurore boréale

    • Malia Konkou, student at Université Laval

    • Maya Lach-Aidelbaum, associate producer at CBC Montreal

    • Nadia Trudel, student at Concordia University

  • Carlos Osorio, freelance photojournalist

    • Alex Lupul, photojournalism student at Loyalist College

  • Daniel Dale, reporter, CNN

    • Madeline Smith, city hall reporter at Calgary Herald

    • Sarah Trick, assistant editor, Ontario Hubs at TVO

  • David Thurton, national reporter in CBC's parliamentary bureau

    • Cole Schisler, editor at the Ladysmith Chronicle

    • Kathleen Saylors, reporter at Woodstock Sentinel-Review

    • Liam Harrap, journalist at Revelstoke Review

  • David Topping, director of newsletters, Torstar

    • Kelly-Anne Riess, multimedia editor/journalist at Cold Lake Sun

  • Dylan Robertson, Ottawa bureau chief, Winnipeg Free Press

    • Aidan Chamandy, reporter at The Hill Times

    • Raisa Patel, web writer and associate producer at CBC's parliamentary bureau

    • Sarah Cooke, municipal affairs reporter at Metroland Media North

  • Elamin Abdelmahmoud, culture writer, BuzzFeed News and host, CBC's Party Lines and Pop Chat

    • Mel Woods, associate editor at HuffPost Canada

    • Valerie Dittrich, freelance journalist

  • Eva Holland, Yukon-based freelance writer

    • Ashley Okwuosa, assistant editor at TVO

    • Eva Voinigescu, outreach manager at The Narwhal

  • Evan Solomon, host, CTV's Question Period and Power Play

    • Jennifer Ferreira, associate web producer at Bell Media

    • Joe Roberts, managing director at Jewish Currents

    • Zameer Karim, associate producer at CBC/Radio Canada

  • Francine Pelletier, columnist, Le Devoir and journalism professor, Concordia University

    • Maryam Azimzadehirani, student at Concordia University

    • Quentin Dufranne, student at Concordia University

  • Hannah Sung, podcast producer for Media Girlfriends and Historica Canada

    • Ash Abraham, reporter at CBC Ottawa

    • Manuela Vega, staff reporter at Toronto Star

    • Manisha Krishnan, senior editor at Vice

    • Michelle Allan, student at Ryerson University

  • James Keller, Alberta bureau chief, The Globe and Mail

    • Moira Wyton, health reporter at The Tyee

  • Jeremy Klaszus, founder and editor-in-chief, The Sprawl

    • Adam Chen, founder at Talk Media

    • Kristy Koehler, editor-in-chief at The Gauntlet

  • Karyn Pugliese, journalism professor at Ryerson University and past CAJ president

    • Cherise Seucharan, freelance journalist

  • Laurie Few, executive producer, digital, TVO

    • Clara Pasieka, reporter at Telegraph-Journal

    • Natalie Pressman, reporter at Northern News Services

  • Matt Galloway, host, CBC's The Current

    • Perushka Gopalkista, freelance writer at Next Big Thing Canada

  • Michelle Shephard, co-founder, Frequent Flyer Films

    • Alex Roslin, freelance journalist

    • Gabrielle Plonka, justice reporter at Yukon News

    • Katie May, reporter at Winnipeg Free Press

    • Paila Sant'anna, student at Concordia University

    • Saba Eitizaz, This Matters co-host at Toronto Star

    • Sadiya Ansari, freelance journalist

    • Shannon Gormley, contributing editor at Maclean’s magazine

  • Nicholas Hune-Brown, freelance magazine writer and senior editor, The Local

    • Katrya Bolger, freelance journalist

    • Yona Harvey, Local Journalism Initiative Reporter at Metroland Media

  • Nicolas Keung, immigration reporter, Toronto Star

    • Alec Regino, student at McGill University

    • Avleen Mokha, freelance journalist

    • Jennifer Carpenter, freelance journalist

    • Kate McCullough, education reporter at the Hamilton Spectator

  • Omar Mouallem, freelance writer and journalist

    • Brishti Basu, freelance journalist

  • Robyn Smith, editor in chief, The Tyee

    • Ayesha Barmania, co-publisher at Peterborough Currents

  • Rosa Hwang, executive producer, CTV National News

    • Alexandra Holyk, student at Ryerson University

    • Oral Buchanan, evening assignment editor, CTV National News

  • Sarah Cox, B.C. investigative reporter, The Narwhal

    • Amber Bracken, freelance photojournalist

  • Stephanie Hinds, segment producer and lineup editor, CTV's The Social

    • Jael Joseph, student at Ryerson University

  • Sunaya Sapurji, senior editor, The Athletic Canada

    • Emily Wilson, managing editor at The Fulcrum

  • Valérie Ouellet, senior data journalist, CBC/Radio-Canada

    • Alex Nguyen, staff reporter at Ricochet Media

    • Caora McKenna, city editor at The Coast

This April, the CAJ will be hosting a live mentorship event for all applicants to the program. Applicants who did not match this time around are strongly encouraged to apply for the next session in June 2021. If you are a journalist interested in mentoring for the next edition of this program please get in touch with us

The Canadian Association of Journalists is a professional organization with more than 900 members across Canada. The CAJ's primary roles are public-interest advocacy work and professional development for its members.

For more information contact:

Brent Jolly, CAJ president


[email protected]

Return to list