OTTAWAJan. 8, 2019 - The Canadian Association of Journalists reminds journalists that less than a week remains to submit entries for the 2018 CAJ Awards program, featuring Canada's top investigative journalism award, the Don McGillivray Award.

The deadline for entries is 11:59 p.m. ET on Monday, Jan 14, 2019.

Full information on how to enter the CAJ Awards is now posted on the Awards section of our website; you can also go straight to the submission site.

"Despite the ongoing challenges facing journalists in newsrooms across Canada, we know many of our industry colleagues continue to produce first-rate work," said CAJ president Karyn Pugliese. "Canadian media continued to publish and broadcast journalism in 2018 that informed, forced accountability and made our communities better places to live, raise families and work. The CAJ looks forward to recognizing excellence and the hard working journalists who serve the public."

Members always get the best rates and those considering an entry are encouraged to become a CAJ member as part of entering the awards. For example, CAJ members eligible to submit an individual entry into the Community Media or Community Broadcast categories will have their entry fee waived.

The CAJ Awards finalists will be announced in the spring, with the recipients announced at the CAJ conference banquet and awards gala, part of the 2019 CAJ conference in to be held in Winnipeg from May 3-5.

The CAJ is Canada's largest national professional organization for journalists from all media, representing members across the country. The CAJ's primary roles are to provide public-interest advocacy and high-quality professional development for its members. | |  

General awards questions can always be submitted to [email protected]

SOURCE Canadian Association of Journalists

For further information:

Karyn Pugliese, CAJ president


[email protected]


Karim Zidan

CAJ Awards committee chair

[email protected]

Return to list