Congratulations to all the 2013 CAJ Awards finalists!

OTTAWA, April 7, 2014 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the finalists for its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada for 2013.

The winning entry in most categories will receive a $500 cash prize. The winners in each category will be announced May 10, 2014, at the CAJ Awards gala and conference banquet in Vancouver, part of the #CAJ14 conference at the Holiday Inn and Suites Downtown Vancouver.

Delegates registering for the full conference (May 9-10) in most registration categories get a banquet ticket as part of their registration. Standalone tickets are also available at a cost of $45. Register and purchase tickets today via the conference registration pageEarly bird rates for the conference run until April 25.

The Don McGillivray Award for the best ‘overall’ investigative report for 2013 will also be announced at the awards banquet.

Please note that the media outlet listed is where the finalist worked at the time their entry was broadcast/published or where the particular entry was broadcast/published. Finalists are listed alphabetically by media outlet. Links, where available, have been provided in the titles of the finalists’ entries.

The finalists in the OPEN MEDIA category are:

Selena Ross, Frances Willick
Rehtaeh Parsons
The Chronicle-Herald, Halifax

Glen McGregor
Senate Expenses Scandal
Ottawa Citizen

Kevin Donovan, Jayme Poisson, Robyn Doolittle, Jesse McLean, Jennifer Pagliaro, Dale Brazao, Kenyon Wallace, David Bruser, Emily Mathieu, Mary Ormsby
Mayor Rob Ford Investigation
Toronto Star

Kim Bolan
Inside the Angels
Vancouver Sun

Craig Pearson, Trevor Wilhelm
The Way of the Gun
Windsor Star

The finalists in the COMMUNITY MEDIA category are:

Krystle Alarcon, Sam Eifling
Angel’s Story: Trapped in a Violent World
The Tyee

David P. Ball
Cross-Border Coal War
The Tyee

The finalists in the OPEN BROADCAST FEATURE category are:

Timothy Sawa, Marie-Maude Denis, Annie Burns-Pieper, Nicole Reinert
Offshore Exposed
CBC News – Investigative Unit

Adrienne Arsenault, Stephanie Jenzer
Travels in Terror
CBC News – The National

Garth Mullins, Lisa Hale, Yvonne Gall
The Imaginary Albino
CBC Radio One – Ideas

Sandie Rinaldo, Marleen Trotter, Mary Dartis, Brett Mitchell, Anton Koschany
Cheatin’ Hearts
CTV News – W5

Sonia Desmarais, Sylvie Fournier
Force Policière
Radio-Canada – Enquête

The finalists in the OPEN BROADCAST NEWS category are:

Dave Seglins, John Nichol, Heather Evans, Carla Turner, Jeremy McDonald, Brigitte Noel
Rail Safety in Canada
CBC News – Daily Investigations Research Team

Robert Fife
Senate Under Scrutiny
CTV News

Sandie Rinaldo, Litsa Sourtzis, Steve Bandera, Brett Mitchell, Anton Koschany
Crisis in Care – Deadly Care
CTV News – W5

The finalists in the COMMUNITY BROADCAST category are:

Charles Rusnell, Jennie Russell
Imported Politics
CBC News – Edmonton

Geoff Leo, David Horth
Carbon Conflict
CBC News – Saskatchewan

Zach Dubinsky, John Lancaster, Heather Evans, Harvey Cashore
Municipal Muckraking
CBC News – Toronto

Abigail Bimman
Behind Prison Walls
CTV News – Kitchener


Andrew McIntosh, Kinia Adamczyk
De L’Aide Sociale, Même En Prison
Agence QMI / Journal de Montréal – Bureau d’enquête

Anita Elash, Amber Hildebrandt, Michael Pereira, Kimberly Ivany, Romilla Karnick, Sina Zapfe
Rate My Hospital: A Fifth Estate Investigation
CBC News Online / The Fifth Estate

Leslie Young, Anna Mehler Paperny, Kate Grzegorczyk
Crude Awakening
Global News

Jeff Outhit
‘A Question of Life and Death’
Waterloo Region Record

Claire Brownell
Land Grab: How a Bridge Baron Ruined a Neighbourhood
Windsor Star

The finalists in the ONLINE MEDIA category are:

Amber Hildebrandt, Michael Pereira, Ian Johnson, Eric Foss, Joanne Levasseur
Pipeline Safety
CBC News – Online

Christopher Johnson
The End of the World
Globalite Magazine

Patrick Cain
Remembrance Day – Mapping the Dead of Canada’s Wars
Global News

Sunny Freeman
Staking Claim: First Nations and Resource Development in the Ring of Fire
Huffington Post Canada

The finalists in the PHOTOJOURNALISM category are:

Jonathan Hayward
Portfolio entry
The Canadian Press

Shaughn Butts
Portfolio entry
Edmonton Journal

Darryl Dyck
Portfolio entry
Freelance / The Canadian Press

Steve Russell
Portfolio entry
The Toronto Star

The finalists in the SCOOP category are:

Andrew McIntosh
Conversations Secrètes Finalement Révélées
Agence QMI – Bureau d’enquête

Frederic Zalac, Alex Shprintsen, Nicole Reinert, Zach Dubinsky, Harvey Cashore, Doug Husby, Kris Fleerackers, Sheldon Beldick, Emmanuel Marchand
Offshore Secrets: Massive Data Leak Exposes Offshore Financial Secrets
CBC News – Investigative Unit

Robert Fife
Senate Expense Scandal
CTV News

Tara Deschamps, Kelsey Rolfe, Natalie Chu, Robert Cribb
Ontario to Open Up Toronto Institutions’ Food-Safety Records / Bendale Acres Deaths: Outbreaks at Long-Term Facilities Need to be Made Public, Experts Say
Ryerson University / The Toronto Star

The finalists in the DAILY EXCELLENCE category are:

Mark Ross
Alberta Floods
CBC News Network

Jon Wells
Leaving Steel
Hamilton Spectator

Robert Sibley
‘He Just Didn’t Stop;’ Six Dead, Dozen Critical After Collision
Ottawa Citizen

Kim Bolan, Mike Hager
Terror Suspects Marginalized Drug Addicts
Vancouver Sun

The finalists in the TEXT FEATURE category are:

Sydney Loney
Blind and Bullied, But Not Beaten

Dawn Walton
Lost on the Way to the Holy War
Globe and Mail

Ryan Maloney
Veteran Says Sacrifice Being Demeaned
Huffington Post Canada

Charles Hamilton
School of Last Resort
The StarPhoenix, Saskatoon


Mark Kelley, Lysanne Louter, Tarannum Kamlani, Aileen McBride
Made in Bangladesh
CBC News – The Fifth Estate

Brennan Leffler, Kirk Neff, Jonathan Wong, Laurie Few, Nisha Pahuja
Bus Rape Outrage
Global – 16X9

Carol Sanders
When Hope Runs Out
Winnipeg Free Press


Kathy Tomlinson, Raj Ahluwalia
RBC Foreign Workers
CBC News – The National

Richard Littlemore
Union 2.0
Globe and Mail

Krystle Alarcon
Canada’s Temporary Foreign Workers Controversy: Years in the Making
The Tyee

Gordon Hoekstra
Asbestos Safety Often Ignored
Vancouver Sun


Hannah Kost, Danielle Semrau
The Faith of Pam Rocker
Calgary Journal / Mount Royal University

Allison Drinnan, Anna Brooks
Into the Shadows: An Inside Look at Alberta’s Sex Trade Industry
Calgary Journal / Mount Royal University

Alexandra Posadzki
Chill Pills: The Dangers of Benzodiazepines
The Canadian Press / Ryerson University

Laura Hubbard, Kate McKenna, Natascia Lypny, Emily Kitagawa, Tari Wilson, Rana Encol, Luke Orrell
Huffington Post Canada / University of King’s College

Sam Pinto
Quebec Charter Faces Opposition in McGill Community
The McGill Tribune / McGill University

Consistent with information in the entry package instructions, judges had the discretion to name between one and five finalists in each award category. There were a total 213 entries for the 2013 awards program.

Congratulations to all our finalists. Your work has been outstanding and we thank you for entering. We hope to see you in Vancouver.

Return to list