APTN wins CAJ Charles Bury Award

OTTAWA, April 30, 2017 /CNW/ – The Canadian Association of Journalists recognized the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network with the CAJ Charles Bury Award at its annual awards gala at the Sheraton Ottawa Hotel on April 29.

The award is given under circumstances of exceptional merit to those people or organizations that have made a significant contribution to Canadian journalism. APTN is leading the charge on giving Indigenous people in Canada a voice on both sides of the camera, and the network is a stellar example of a growing news organization that embraces advocacy and professional development.

“When it comes to supporting journalists and fighting for journalism, APTN punches above its weight,” said CAJ President Nick Taylor-Vaisey. “They fight for press freedom in the courts. They pitched, organized and funded vital programming at our conference. They’re everywhere.”

Taylor-Vaisey also highlighted the individual contribution of Karyn Pugliese, whose name is front and centre in so much of APTN’s work. “As if all that wasn’t enough, Karyn even joined our ethics committee late last year,” said Taylor-Vaisey. “There’s no end to her energy and dedication.”

This award, formerly known as the President’s Award, was renamed in honour of veteran journalist and long-time CAJ board member Charles Bury, who died in February 2014.

The CAJ is Canada’s largest national professional organization for journalists from all media, representing nearly 600 members across the country. The CAJ’s primary roles are to provide high-quality professional development for its members and public-interest advocacy.

For further information:
Nick Taylor-Vaisey, CAJ president – 647-968-2393 cell, [email protected]


Return to list