The Code of Silence Awards call public attention to government or publicly-funded agencies that work hard to hide information to which the public has a right under access to information legislation. The awards are presented annually by the Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ), the Centre for Free Expression (CFE) at Toronto Metropolitan University (formally Ryerson University), and Canadian Journalists for Free Expression (CJFE).