#CAJ18: Have your say!

The CAJ's 40th anniversary (1978-2018) is just around the corner. We've always been proud to work hard as a national voice for journalists across Canada—no matter the challenges that our industry stares down.

CAJ18 will take place May 4-6 at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Toronto!

Register Now


Pelham town officials cannot ignore local journalists

OTTAWA / March 20, 2018 / — Elected officials in Pelham, Ont., appear to have forgotten journalists are a staple of democracy. The mayor and town councillors, along with municipal staff, have reportedly spent several weeks ignoring the only news outlet covering most local issues. Pelham must r...

Read More

Daniel Dale, Katie Benner and Amy King headline CAJ national conference

The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce its lineup of keynote speakers for its 40th annual national conference on May 4-5 at the Hyatt Regency Hotel in Toronto. Delegates will hear from the Toronto Star’s man in Washington, Daniel Dale, who will reflect on his exhaustiv...

Read More

CAJ condemns arrest of Radio-Canada reporter

OTTAWA, March 16, 2018 – The Canadian Association of Journalists condemns the actions of the Service de police de la Ville de Gatineau for arresting Radio-Canada reporter Antoine Trépanier for alleged criminal harassment. Trépanier was arrested by police on March 13 af...

Read More

Applications open for 2018 EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship

Ottawa – The Canadian Association of Journalists (CAJ) and the European Union Delegation to Canada are thrilled to launch the 2018 edition of the European Union-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship. The EU-Canada Young Journalist Fellowship aims to recognize outstanding journalistic talent amon...

Read More

Federal budget 2018: Cautious optimism for journalists

OTTAWA, Feb. 27, 2018 /CNW/ - The Canadian Association of Journalists is cautiously optimistic at the 2018 federal budget's promised investment in local journalism. The budget includes mention of a $10-million investment per year over five years to "one or more independ...

Read More

In The Field: The Legacy of Land in North Preston

 Untitled: The Legacy of Land in North Preston, is an investigative web project produced by second-year journalism students at the Nova Scotia Community College. It takes a look at the issue of land title in the historic Black community of North Preston and the stunning fact that many people t...

Read More

In The Field: The Unremembered

This account describes the efforts it took Globe and Mail reporters to obtain a more complete picture of suicides of Afghanistan war veterans who fought in a combat that officially began in late 2001 and ended in March of 2014.    Standing at a kitchen counter in a home not far from th...

Read More

2018 is a milestone year for the CAJ

Dear CAJ supporters, Before 2017, few of us might have guessed we'd see a sitting U.S. president retweet a doctored video of himself wrestling a news organization to the ground. But that bizarre, dangerous, joke of a tweet, which incited violence against journalists, symbolized what was o...

Read More

Niagara Region’s violation of press freedom is inexcusable: CAJ

OTTAWA / Dec. 8, 2017 / CNW — Ontario’s Niagara Region became the most recent municipal government to violate a journalist’s freedom to report the news at city council. Municipality officials confiscated a reporter’s notes and equipment during an in-camera session of council...

Read More

Call for entries for the 2017 CAJ Awards

It’s with pleasure that the Canadian Association of Journalists invites entries for its annual awards program — which includes Canada’s top investigative award, the Don McGillivray Award. The application deadline for the CAJ Awards is Jan. 15, 2018. Click here to submit an entry ...

Read More


The Canadian Association of Journalists is pleased to announce the winners of its annual awards for outstanding investigative journalism in Canada published or broadcast in 2016. Check out the full list of winners!

We also handed out the Code of Silence award to Ontario's Office of the Fire Marshal and the CAJ Charles Bury Award to the Aboriginal Peoples Television Network.


Photo courtesy heipei via Flickr

We were so excited for this year’s national conference on April 28-29 in Ottawa. As journalism continues to take a hit, with layoffs piling up and continued attacks on press freedom, we know it's not easy in Canadian newsrooms. And we also know this:


So we rallied in Ottawa. Our delgates and presenters collaborated on valuable discussions on press freedom, freelancing, interviewing, data, ethics and more—and they networked throughout.

If you missed the conference, check out the #CAJ17 page and browse the liveblogs we offered for every single session.

Connect with CAJ